Deep Linking

Improve conversion and reduce friction by deep linking users in the correct part of Link.

Overview

Deep linking allows you to omit certain screens from the usual Link flow in order to land the user directly where you want them to be for a certain action. Deep linking improves conversion rates by reducing friction and providing a better overall user experience.

Deep linking new users

You can deep link users into the login screen and omit the Intro and Search screens if you know the exact Link item the user wants to connect to. This might be the case under the following scenarios:

External search screen

When you determine a user's employer in your app/website and only then send them to Argyle as described here.

We strongly recommend letting users find their employer within the Argyle flow as this provides the best user experience and highest conversion rates.

Predefined list of Link items

When you want to support only a limited number of Link items, you can present a list of companies in your app or website and guide the user directly to the login screen.

In these scenarios, initialize Link with a Link item id in the linkItems parameter:

linkItems
array of strings
optional

Use this parameter to limit the number of Link items that your users can connect to. Provide an array of Link item IDs you want Argyle Link to display on the Search screen. The order in which you list the IDs will define the order in which they are displayed in the UI.

If you provide a single Link item ID, the Search screen will be skipped and the user will be navigated directly to the Link item Login screen.

Deep linking returning users

For returning users, in addition to providing a Link item ID in linkItems, you also need to provide the userToken associated with that user.

There are three scenarios in which you can use deep linking for returning users:

Re-authenticating a logged out user

Some platforms have connection timeouts or force log out if the user logs in on another device. Users need to log into their payroll platform again to keep the account connection active.

Updating a pay allocation

When you want to provide an opportunity for the user to update their pay allocation.

Revoking access

When you want to provide an opportunity for the user to disconnect their connected accounts.