How users can easily re-authorize their payroll connections.
Argyle's platform keeps every payroll connection alive for as long as the associated payroll system allows.
In most cases, once a user connects a payroll account, the connection stays alive indefinitely. This allows Argyle to continuously scan and retrieve any new data that is added to the user's payroll account, giving you continuous data updates as new paystubs or payroll documents become available.
Why accounts disconnect#
Similarly to how bank account connections with third party apps need to be refreshed periodically, some payroll systems require users to re-authenticate their connections from time to time.
If an account becomes disconnected, payroll data can still be retrieved via Console or the API, but data updates will not take place until the account is reconnected by the user.
Types of disconnections#
Some payroll systems have automatic log-outs after a set period of time. Once Argyle scans a connected payroll system and finds the user has been logged out, both Console and the API will display an
auth_required error in the account's details.
- If a disconnection occurs, have the user return to Link.
- The user can re-establish the connection by simply selecting Reconnect. No need to re-submit login credentials!
90% of all payroll accounts require that users complete an additional multi-factor authentication (MFA) step.
Some payroll systems require users to reset their passwords periodically. When this occurs, an
expired_credentials error will be shown in the account's details.
- When credentials expire, have the user return to Link.
- On the account's login screen, a Forgot password? button will take the user to their payroll system's platform. After the user resets their password, they need to return to Link and enter their updated credentials to re-establish the connection.
When Console is in Sandbox mode, Link Flows provides an error testing feature that lets you simulate account disconnections.
Visit our Sandbox Testing Guide for more information on error testing in Console.
Returning users to Link#
If the user was originally sent a URL invite via Console or via the API, the user can return to Link any time using the same URL hyperlink included in the invite, which does not expire. You can also resend the original invite to the user (keeping the same URL) using either method.
You must resend invites for account re-connections. Sending a new invite will result in duplicate users.
Once the user returns to Link, they can access their previous connections in the upper-right of the search screen to take additional action.
If you are embedding Link in your website or application, we recommend using the direct login method to take the user directly to their disconnected account. From there, the user simply has to select Reconnect to re-connect the disconnected account, and does not need to re-enter their login credentials.
Within Link, users are shown which payroll accounts they have previously connected. After selecting a connected account, users are always presented with an option to revoke access to the account. After revoking access, data from the payroll account will no longer be retrievable through Console or the API.
For more information on permissioned access and privacy, visit our data security guide.
We recommend subscribing to the
accounts.updated webhook to be notified when an account becomes disconnected.
When subscribing, make sure to set
true using the
config parameter to always receive a payload with the updated account's details.
To determine whether an
accounts.updated webhook was triggered by an account disconnection, examine the
connection.status field of the account object included in the webhook payload. If the value of
error, and the
error_message is either
expired_credentials, an account disconnection has occurred.
Subscribe to the
accounts.removed webhook to be notified when a user revokes access to one of their connected accounts.